Augmented Reality Link and Video Roundup

Standard

One of my goals by the end of this semester is to create an augmented Reality application. Admittedly, I know pretty much nothing about how to do this. But, I believe it is something we’ll be seeing lots more of in the future, so I’d like to learn more about it.

So, to get me started on this project, here is the first in a series of posts of collections of videos and websites that help to define what augmented reality is and what it can do.

What is Augmented Reality?

I like to describe my own understanding of what augmented reality is this way: augmented reality is a way of enhancing the real world with digital content. Common Craft has a nice explanation video. I was unable to embed it, but I highly recommend it:

Augmented Reality Explained by Common Craft

Augmented Reality explained by Common Craft. (opens in a new window)

HowStuffWorks.com also has a nice explanation here: http://computer.howstuffworks.com/augmented-reality.htm. Including this nice bit:

On the spectrum between virtual reality, which creates immersive, computer-generated environments, and the real world, augmented reality is closer to the real world. Augmented reality adds graphics, sounds, haptic feedback and smell to the natural world as it exists. Both video games and cell phones are driving the development of augmented reality. Everyone from tourists, to soldiers, to someone looking for the closest subway stop can now benefit from the ability to place computer-generated graphics in their field of vision.

Augmented Reality using Webcams

GE’s Smartgrid AR:

If you’ve got a web cam, try this one out for yourself: http://ge.ecomagination.com/smartgrid/#/landing_page

Augmented Reality on Mobile Devices

This one uses the compass on an iPhone to help you locate the nearest Tube Station in London.

Layar: Augmented Reality for exploring a city.

That’s all for now. More to come!

3 thoughts on “Augmented Reality Link and Video Roundup

    • Unfortunately not. I was pretty inspired by the examples I found, but when I looked into how to create, it I realized that it was far more complicated that I realized. I’ll have to look into Everyblock though, I didn’t come across that one.

Leave a Reply

